Transylvanian Experimental Neuroscience Summer School (TENSS) 2022

TENSS concentrates top-level international expertise to teach a dozen students techniques and concepts in experimental systems neuroscience. We focus on modern optical and electrophysiological methods to study the connectivity and function of neuronal circuits. The course is designed to be intensive and highly interactive, including both lab sessions and theoretical lectures. Coursework will take place in a land of myth and legend, beyond large forests (Transylvania), on the shores of a picturesque natural reserve called Pike Lake. Applications are welcome from interested (and interesting) graduate students and postdocs.

Invited lecturers (tentative)

Click here to apply!

Athena Akrami – Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, UCL, UK
Upinder Bhalla – National Centre for Biological Sciences, India
Federico Carnevale – DeepMind Technologies, London, UK
Michael Dickinson – California Institute of Technology, USA
Florian Engert – Harvard University, USA
Balázs Hangya – IEM, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
Sonja Hofer – Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, UCL, UK
TomᚠHromαdka – Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia
Mark Hübener – Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Na Ji – Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Janelia Farm, USA
Benjamin Judkewitz – Einstein Center for Neuroscience, Germany
Georg Keller – Friedrich Miescher Institute, Switzerland
Emilie Mace – Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Christian Machens – Champalimaud Foundation, Portugal
MacKenzie Mathis – Rowland Institute, Harvard University
Hannah Monyer – University of Heidelberg, Germany
Tom Mrsic-Flögel – Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, UCL, UK
Venkatesh Murthy – Harvard University, USA
Ruben Portugues – Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Tobias Rose – Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Botond Roska – IOB Basel, Switzerland
Wolf Singer – Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Germany
Nao Uchida – Harvard University, USA
Daniela Vallentin – Max-Planck-Institute for Ornithology, Germany
Mitsuko Watabe-Uchida – Harvard University, USA
Chris Xu – Cornell University, USA
Petr Znamenskiy – Francis Crick Institute, UK

Application deadline – February 27th 2022
Summer School – 1-21 June 2022


Florin Albeanu
Adam Kampff
Raul Mureşan

Teaching Assistants & Organizing Team

Harald Bârzan
Antonin Blot
Andrei Ciuparu
Loredana Dan
Medorian Gheorghiu
Matias Goldin
Priyanka Gupta
Ana Maria Ichim
Mitra Javadzadeh
Mateusz Kostecki

Fred Marbach
Vasile Moca
Adriana Nagy-Dăbâcan
Jon Newman
Cosmina Pavel
Bruno Pichler
Laura Rus
Nacho Sanguinetti
Iuliu Vasilescu
Jakob Voigts

Program and poster coming soon!

For information on the format and topics of the summer school check out our past TENSS editions.

© TENSS 2022